الورود الرومانية

لمحة تاريخية عن الوردة في الأساطير الرومانية

لطالما كانت روما مدينة تتدفق فيها مياه الورد في النوافير، والمظلات المغمورة بزيت الورد كانت تحمي كبار الشخصيات في المدرجات العامة من أشعة الشمس الحارقة، وكانت الوسائد والمراتب محشوة ببتلات الورد، وكانت أكاليل الورود هي رمز المكانة المرموقة التي يجب الوصول إليها عند الرومان. حيث تم استخدام بتلات الورد في صنع حلوى البودنج المعطرة بخفة، والجرعات والأدوية، وكانت تنشر على الأسرة والمآدب، وقد قام الإمبراطور نيرو بتركيب أنابيب فضية في قصره لتنثر ماء الورد على ضيوفه.وردة حمراء عميقة


منذ عهد الرومان، ارتبطت الورود ارتباطًا جوهريًا بالرومانسية، وارتبط مؤخرًا عيد الحب في (القرن السابع عشر) بحكايات عن الوردة باعتبارها رمزًا لڤينوس، إلهة الحب. ووفقًا للأساطير، فقد ظهرت الوردة البيضاء لأول مرة أثناء ولادة فينوس إلهة الحب.

ولڤينوس حكاية ثانية معطّرة برائحة الورد تتعلّق بحبيبها، أدونيس، حيث تحكي الأسطورة كيف تحولت الورود إلى اللون الأحمر. ففي أحد الأيام، ذهب أدونيس في رحلة برية لاصطياد الخنازير، فأرسل خاطبها الغيور خنزيراً برياً ليؤذيه. في اللحظة الأخيرة، اكتشفت ڤينوس الأمر وهرعت لتحذيره، وعندما كانت تسارع لمساعدة حبيبها، خدشت نفسها على شجيرة ورد، فتناثرت منها بقع الدم على بتلاتها البيضاء الناعمة، وتحولت الورود إلى اللون الأحمر. 

كيوبيد (كلمة تعني "الرغبة العاطفية" في اللاتينية) وكيوبيد هو إله الرغبة والحب الشهواني والجاذبية والعاطفة عند الرومان، غالبًا ما يكون رمزًا لعيد القديس ڤالنتين ويشار إليه باعتباره الجاني وراء أشواك الورد. أحب كيوبيد الورود وذات يوم، بينما كان يميل لتقبيل أكثر وردة يحبها، قام النحل جامع الرحيق والمختبئ داخل الوردة بلسعه، فعاد غاضبًا ومنزعجاً إلى أحضان والدته، فينوس، ليروي لها الحكاية ويصف لها شعوره بالفزع والخوف. 

كآن آخر ما تتمناه أن ترى إبنها العزيز في حالة من الاضطراب الشديد، فقد أهدت ڤينوس كيوبيد باقة سحرية من الأسهم المتريشة لمساعدته على أخذ ثأره. عاد كيوبيد المجنح إلى الحديقة، بعد أن عدت إليه ثقته بنفسه، وأطلق موجة من السهام باتجاه شجيرات الورد. وأصبحت الأماكن التي أخطأت فيها سهامه هدفها ينظر إليها على أنها أشواك الورود.

لم تنتهي حكاياته عن الورود عند هذا الحد. قصة كيوبيد وسايكي عن الحب والغيرة والإغواء تفسر انتشار الورود في جميع أنحاء الإمبراطورية. بعد حكاية طويلة من اللعنات والانتقام والمكائد، فرغت قصتهم إلى نهاية السعيدة. أنقذ كيوبيد في النهاية سايكي من نومها اللعين، وكان جوبيتر سعيدًا للغاية بلم الشمل لدرجة أنه طلب من بناته جعل كل شيء يتوهج بالورود، أمرهم بنثر الأزهار في جميع أنحاء الأرض. 

تتلاقى أيضًا قصص عطرينا المستوحيين من الأساطير، Rhodanthe و Aurora مع الوردة. حيث كانت أورورا، إلهة الفجر رؤية تستحق الإمعان، فقد كانت تحلّق بعربتها في السماء لرسم الشمس وتخط سماء الصباح الحمراء بلون الورود، بينما تتصاعد عباءتها الأرجوانية خلفها وهي تنثر بتلات الورود في أعقابها. 

أسطورة تميزت بجمالها الأخاذ، رودانثي التي كان الخاطبون يتهافتون عليها ويلاحقونها في كل مكان من بعيد وقريب، متأثرين بسحر جاذبيتها. لكن جمالها كان نعمة ونقمة في نفس الوقت. فبسبب عدم قدرتها على الهروب من تقدمهم، طلبت الحماية من صديقتها والإلهة ديانا التي حولتها إلى وردة وحوّلن الخاطبين إلى أشواك.

"وردة بأي اسم آخر لها رائحة حلوة" شكسبير

كانت الورود دائماً في قلب كل جانب من جوانب الحياة الرومانية من طقوس الاستحمام إلى الحداد والاحتفال وحتى في محاولات التأثير على الأحباء. كانت بتلات الورد متناثرة في الولائم، ونسج منها الأكاليل وزينت بها التيجان وتم الاحتفال بها في المهرجانات المخصصة للورود.

كانت الأساطير الرومانية مصدر إلهام لعطرين من أفضل عطورنا. لتعوف المزيد عن Aurora وRhodanthe وعطورنا الأخرى التي تحتفي بالورود، تفضّل بزيارة إصدار الورود.

"ولكن من لا يجرؤ على الإمساك بالشوكة"

"لا يجب أن أشتهي الوردة "

آن برونتي

العطور مع روز

كهربية مستديرة

باستخدام هذا الموقع ، فإنك توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط. نحن نستخدم ملفات تعريف الارتباط لتزويدك بتجربة رائعة ولمساعدة موقعنا على العمل بشكل فعال.

ROMAN ROSES

A brief history of the rose in Roman mythology

Rome was a city where rosewater bubbled through the fountains, awnings soaked in rose oil shielded VIPs in public amphitheatres from the baking sun, pillows and mattresses were stuffed with rose petals and where rose garlands were the ultimate Roman must-have status symbol. Rose petals were used to create in delicately-scented puddings, love potions and medicines and scattered on beds and banquets and Emperor Nero had silver pipes installed to spritz his guests with rosewater.Deep red rose

Since the Romans, roses have been intrinsically linked with romance and more lately Valentine’s Day (17th century) with tales of the rose being a symbol of Venus, the goddess of love. According to the mythology, the white rose first sprang forth during the birth of Venus the goddess of love.

And the second rose-scented tale of Venus involves her lover, Adonis, and the myth of how the rose turned red. One day, Adonis was out hunting boar and a jealous suitor sent the wild boar to harm him. At the last moment, Venus found out and rushed to warn him. As she hurried to her lover’s aid, she scratched herself on a rose bush, splashing specks of blood on their soft white petals, turning the blossoms red. 

Cupid (Latin Cupido meaning “passionate desire”) the Roman god of desire, erotic love, attraction and affection, is frequently the symbol of St Valentines’ Day and is cited as the culprit behind the rose’s thorns. Cupid loved roses and one day, while leaning in to kiss his most beloved rose he was stung by a nectar gathering bee hiding inside the flower. Angered and annoyed, he retreated to the arms of his mother, Venus, relaying the tale of his dismay. 

Not wishing to see her cherished son distraught, Venus gifted Cupid with a magical quill of arrows to help him settle the score. Feeling vindicated, the winged Cupid returned to the garden, firing a flurry of arrows down at the rose bushes below. The thorns are seen as the places where his arrows missed their mark.

His tales of roses don’t end there. Cupid and Psyche’s story of love, jealousy and seduction explains the proliferation of roses across the empire. After a long tale of curses, revenge and intrigue, their tale ended happily. Cupid eventually rescued Psyche from a cursed sleep and and Jupiter was so delighted by the union that he asked his daughters to make everything glow with roses, scattering blossoms across the land. 

The stories of two of our muses Rhodanthe and Aurora are also entwined with the rose. AURORA, The Goddess of Dawn was a vision to behold, her chariot soared into the sky drawing the sun and painting the morning sky rose red. Her purple mantle billowed behind her and scattered rose petals in her wake. 

As mythology has it captivating beauty RHODANTHE was pursued by ardent suitors far and wide intoxicated by her allure. But her beauty was both a blessing and a burden. Unable to escape their advances she sought protection from her friend and goddess Diana who transformed her into a rose and the suitors into thorns.

A rose by any other name would smell as sweet” Shakespeare

The rose was woven into every facet of Roman life from bathing rituals to mourning, celebration, and seduction. Rose petals were scattered at banquets, woven into wreaths, crowns and garlands and celebrated during festivals dedicated to the rose.

Roman mythology inspired two of our favourite scents. To discover Aurora, Rhodanthe and our other scents celebrating the rose visit our Rose Edit.

“But he who dares not grasp the thorn

Should never crave the rose.”

Anne Bronte

PERFUMES WITH ROSE

Electimuss roundel

By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies. We use cookies to provide you with a great experience and to help our website run effectively.